WESTAF | Regional Arts Resilience Fund for Arts Organizations

The $10 million Regional Arts Resilience Fund is designed to help mitigate the financial threat to the sector by supporting small- and mid-sized arts organizations of all artistic disciplines in rural and urban areas that are regarded by their peers as having statewide, regional, or national impact.
WESTAF will administer the re-granting of over $1.7 million in fall of 2020 through approximately 30-40 awards ranging from $30,000 to $75,000, with a few exceptional $100,000 grants.

Eligible uses of non-matching grant funds include:

  • Salary support, administration costs
  • Artist/contractor fees
  • Technology (hardware, software)
  • Facilities upgrades
  • Technical assistance
  • Future planning and costs related to collaboration

Eligibility Requirements:

WESTAF will administer the re-granting across its 13-state region, which includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawai‘i, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. In alignment with WESTAF’s strategic vision for increasing opportunities, benefits, and resources for historically underrepresented communities in a manner that results in quantifiable and systemic change, the fund will support organizations led by and/or predominantly serving individuals from historically marginalized communities that identify as: 

  • Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC)
  • Low-income
  • People with disabilities
  • Rural/remote areas (communities with fewer than 50,000 in population and isolated from metropolitan areas.)

Organizations that intentionally focus on the above communities and meet the following criteria will be eligible for consideration:

  • Have one of the following designations: a) a tax exempt 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization; b) a unit of state or local government; c) a nonprofit institution of higher education; or d) a federally recognized Indian tribal government.
  • Have and provide a valid EIN.
  • Are incorporated in and currently conducting business in one or more of the following states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawai‘i, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, or Wyoming.
  • Have an operating budget between $250K – $10 million for the most recently completed fiscal year (pre-COVID-19).
  • Have a DUNS Number—a unique nine-digit identification number of the entity applying for funds. DUNS numbers are available free of charge for all businesses required to register with the U.S. federal government for grants and can be obtained online at https://fedgov.dnb.com/webform.
  • Be in good standing with WESTAF, with no overdue or delinquent reports and/or documentation.


Two Step Process - Nomination and Application:

1. Nomination

WESTAF will accept nominations for arts organizations that meet the above eligibility criteria for the Regional Arts Resilience Fund and operate in the 13-state western region (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawai‘i, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming) between Wednesday, July 15, 2020 and Friday, July 31, 2020 at 5:00 PM Mountain Time.

Anyone can submit a nomination on behalf of an organization, including staff, board, or volunteers. In addition to fielding self- and peer-nominations, WESTAF will convene a panel of regional advisors—arts leaders with a depth of knowledge about the field, including how best to represent and support the aforementioned communities—who will both advise WESTAF on which organizations to invite to submit a full application and participate in the application review process.

Only one nomination is necessary for consideration and a nomination does not guarantee an invitation to submit a full application.

2. Application

WESTAF, with input from the advisory panel, will invite a select number of organizations to apply in August 2020. These organizations can expect to address how they would utilize the funds to reimagine their work and increase their resilience and sustainability in light of the pandemic and speak to their artistic, cultural, and community impact; community engagement; and how the organization advances equity and inclusion.

Applications will be reviewed by the panel of regional advisors, who will provide input on WESTAF’s funding recommendations. Final awards will be approved by the WESTAF Executive Committee in the fall of 2020. The grant period will extend from November 15, 2020 – November 30, 2021. 


Nominate an Organization

WESTAF Website

WESTAF’s grants team is available at grants@westaf.org or 303.629.1166 between 8:30 am - 4:30 pm Mountain time.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request



Please sign in to leave a comment.

Articles in this section